History of Quakers in Reigate
George Fox, the founder of Quakerism, came to Reigate in 1655. He met a sympathetic magistrate, Thomas Moore, whom he ‘convinced’. Moore gave Reigate Friends a field for use as a burial ground, and subsequently a meeting house was built. This was rebuilt twice, the present building dating from 1984. The land resulting from the much larger previous building was used to build a block of flats, providing sheltered housing for local residents. Thomas Moore House stands as a testimony to the long-established Quaker presence in Reigate.
Rooms at Reigate Quakers Meeting House are available to rent and used by local organisations.
Reigate Quaker Meeting House, 47 Reigate Road, Reigate, RH2 0QT
For more information see www.reigatequakers.org.uk